Rebuilding WSUS gotchas

I had to rebuild my SUS server because the old one was still on Win2008 (x86) and I couldn’t get any of the Win10 Anniversary Edition updates.

After rebuilding the server, everything is going great. The service is installed, the updates are downloading, and I see that there are updates for the SUS server pending. So I apply them and reboot.

And the updates breaks SUS and the SUS Console giving me a constant “Reset Server Node” error.

I found this post with details to fix it. KB3159706 needs some post install steps done to unbreak SUS. (Why can’t these post install steps can’t be done automatically or with a warning?)

Summary of the fix:

  1. Open an elevated Command Prompt window and run: “C:\Program Files\Update Services\Tools\wsusutil.exe” postinstall /servicing
  2. Install HTTP Activation under .NET Framework 4.5 Features
  3. Restart the WSUS service.

Also, don’t forget to add the port (:8530) to the GPO:

gpo_update_settings.PNG

(I haven’t configured SSL yet. It is recommended, and it does change the port to 8531.)

